The Monocacy Scenic River Citizens Advisory Board equally represents Carroll and Frederick counties with members appointed by the Carroll County Commissioners and the Frederick County Commissioners. The Board consults on a variety of activities within the Monocacy River Watershed in its role as an advocate for the River and its extended natural resources. The 10-member River Board was created in 1978 in response to the Monocacy River's 1974 designation as a State Scenic River. In 1982 the National Park Service determined that the Monocacy River is among the 5 percent of rivers across the nation eligible for designation as a National Scenic River.

The River Board's objectives, as outlined by the Monocacy Scenic River Management Plan, include:

  • Improving water quality
  • Helping maintain and restore the ecological health and productivity of the River
  • Encouraging land use compatibility and attention to environmentally sensitive areas to maximize conservation and use of riparian resources
  • Identifying and facilitating appropriate uses and alternative protective measures of significant scenic and ecological areas, historic and archaeological sites, and other valued resources
  • Providing resource information about the Monocacy watershed for local, state and federal governments, elected officials and the citizens of Carroll and Frederick counties
  • Developing multi-jurisdictional cooperation and coordination for the management and protection of the River corridor
  • Increasing public awareness about important river resource values through public relations and environmental education


CARROLL COUNTY MEMBERS                                                         EXPIRATION DATE                                                                               

Mr. Vincent J. Baginsky                                                                  December 31, 2021

Ms. Patricia Baumgardner                                                               September 30, 2021

Ms. Rhonda F. Bean                                                                        March 31, 2022

Dr. George Grillon                                                                           February 29, 2020

Vacancy                                                                                         January 31, 2023

Carroll County Liaison

Mr. Byron Madigan                                                  

Carroll County Department of Land & Resource Management                                                      

225 N. Center Street                      

Westminster, Maryland  21157                                

410-386-2712 (Office)                                             



5 Voting Members

4 Year Terms