Department of Planning Staff

Department of Planning Staff

Planning Administration

Planning Director

Director - Lynda Eisenberg - Ms. Eisenberg directs the overall planning and development program under the auspices of the Carroll County Planning & Zoning Commission and serves as Secretary to the Commission. She is the County's empowered representative for the Baltimore Regional Transportation Board, represents Carroll County on the Heart of the Civil War Heritage Area board and the Maryland Association of Counties Planning Directors Affiliate.

Lynda Eisenberg or 410-386-5145.

Planning Manager – Mary Lane - Ms. Lane oversees planning staff in daily activities. She is responsible for Zoning Code revisions and the comprehensive rezoning effort, as well as other legislative efforts. She is also responsible for leading the County's Transportation Master Plan and the County’s projects for the long-range regional transportation plan. Ms. Lane represents Carroll County on the Technical Committee for the Baltimore Regional Transportation Board and she represents the Department on the County’s Transit Advisory Committee.

Mary Lane or 410-386-5145.

Administrative Assistant - Laura Bavetta - Ms. Bavetta assumes chief responsibility for coordinating the business calendar for the Planning Director; performs numerous administrative assignments delegated by the Director; and coordinates the scheduling of agenda items for the Department with the County Commissioners' Office. This position also serves as the Clerk to the Carroll County Planning & Zoning Commission, preparing and distributing Planning Commission meeting agendas, attending Planning Commission meetings, and preparing related correspondence and minutes.

Laura Bavetta or 410-386-2132

Office Associate  - Kathy Joy - Ms. Joy provides administrative assistance and support for the Department of Planning. She is responsible for all clerical activities within the Department.  Ms. Joy also greets citizens and refers them to the appropriate staff.

Kathy Joy or 410-386-5145

Meet the Planning Staff

Comprehensive Planner – Clare Stewart - Ms. Stewart is the planning liaison to Sykesville, as well as Election Districts 4, 5 and 14. Ms. Stewart processes annexation petitions received from municipalities. Clare is the lead staff on the implementation of the Carroll County Bicycle and Pedestrian Master Plan and serves on the Regional Bicycle-Pedestrian Advisory Group for the Baltimore Regional Transportation Board.  She also serves as the liaison to the Finksburg Planning and Citizens’ Council and assists with the development and implementation of the Sustainable Communities program. In addition, Clare serves on the Mason Dixon Task Force.

Clare Stewart or 410-386-2258

Comprehensive Planner - Price Wagoner - Mr. Wagoner is the planning liaison to the Towns of Hampstead, Manchester, New Windsor as well as Election Districts 6 and 8. He is also responsible for the triennial update of the Master Water and Sewer Plan, as well as the spring and fall amendments to the plan. Mr. Wagoner serves as the office contact for the inventory of historic sites for Carroll County, is planning staff to the Historic Preservation Commission and reviews Historic Preservation and National Environmental Policy Act (106) reviews for the Department. He also reviews all Agricultural Preservation applications for the department.

Price Wagoner or 410-386-2064.

Comprehensive Planner – Cody Spaid - Mr. Spaid is the planning liaison to the Cities of Taneytown and Westminster, as well as Election Districts 1, 2, 3 & 7. Mr. Spaid is assigned to assist on the Countywide Transportation Master Plan, as well as the annual Transportation Priority Letter to the state and the Highway Needs Inventory.  He is the Department’s representative on The County’s Traffic Team. Mr. Spaid is the lead for the Annual Planning Report and monthly demographic reports for the County.  He serves on the Cooperative Forecasting Group for the Baltimore Regional Transportation Board and keeps track of demographic data for the County.  

Cody Spaid or 410-386-2141

Planning Technician – Hannah Weber – Ms. Weber is the planning liaison to the Towns of Mount Airy and Union Bridge; as well as Election Districts 9,10, 12 and 13. She is responsible for reviewing Board of Zoning Appeals cases and Zoning Administrator cases for consistency with the County’s Master Plan and other functional plans. Ms. Weber assists in Master Plan implementation efforts and with the Comprehensive Rezoning effort. 

Hannah Weber or 410-386-2139

Planning /GIS Technician – Kathleen Comber - Ms. Comber is the Department’s GIS analyst and technical support.  This position prepares maps and GIS data for various planning projects such as the Bicycle-Pedestrian Master Plan and Board of Zoning Appeals cases.

Kathleen Comber or 410-386-2023

Planners' Geographic Areas of Responsibility

Planners' Geographic Areas of Responsibility