Carroll County Monocacy River Board

January 22, 2020 Carroll County Monocacy River Board Meeting Location: Taneytown Firehall, Taneytown, Maryland

In Attendance:

Byron Madigan (CC Staff), Vince Baginsky, George Grillon, Patricia Baumgardner, Chris Heyn (CC Staff), Tom Devilbiss (CC Staff)

Absent:

Rhonda Bean

This initial meeting of the Carroll County Monocacy River Board was called to order by Byron Madigan, Carroll County Liaison.

No Public comment was given during the open public comment period.

The board discussed the official name of the board, which was decided to be "Carroll County Monocacy River Board", as well as the charge/purpose of the board. A draft purpose statement will be reviewed at the next meeting scheduled for February 19, 2020.

Draft by-laws were discussed and reviewed. Additional discussion and finalization is anticipated at the February 19, 2020 meeting.

Election of officers took place with Rhonda Bean being unanimously elected Chair and Vince Baginsky unanimously elected Vice-Chair.

Snow policy was also discussed. The group agreed to follow school closings related to evening activities. If evening activities are canceled for Carroll County Public Schools no Monocacy Board meeting will occur.

Meeting times were decided by the Board to occur on the 3rd Wednesday of each month with the 4th Wednesday held in reserve as a potential make-up date.

Future potential speakers at upcoming board meetings were discussed. Topics of concern and interest put forth by the group included discussions on;

- Chesapeake Bay WIP III process
- Mr. Fisher Sixes Bridge History
- Trading Stormwater with Wastewater
- DNR Fisheries Biologists
- Forest Management Tom Robertson or Jamie Weaver

- DNR Police/County Sheriff Deputy
- Water Quality studies/progress
 Carroll staff NPDES stormwater

Meeting adjourned at 8:30 Submitted by Byron Madigan