Board of County Commissioners

Dennis E. Frazier, President Stephen A. Wantz, Vice President C. Richard Weaver, Secretary Doug Howard Richard S. Rothschild



Carroll County Government

225 North Center Street Westminster, Maryland 21157 410-386-2043; 1-888-302-8978 fax 410-386-2485 MD Relay 711/800-735-2258

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Chris Winebrenner 410-386-2043

Carroll County Commissioners Support Finksburg as Proposed Designated Sustainable Community

Westminster, MD, Thursday, December 14, 2017 – The Carroll County Board of Commissioners (BCC) voted 3-0 (Commissioner Rothschild abstaining) today to adopt a resolution designating approximately 553 acres of the Finksburg Priority Funding Area as a county Designated Sustainable Community. This is the first step in the State of Maryland process to formally award the proposed designation.

The Finksburg Sustainable Community workgroup coordinated with the Carroll County Department of Planning to work with residents and businesses affected by the designation. The Department of Planning and members of the workgroup presented a briefing and recommendations to the BCC during Open Session on December 5, 2017. The recommendations include a 5-year action plan, developed by Finksburg citizens and businesses, with outcomes in areas of environment, economic, transportation, housing, quality of life and land use.

Sustainable Communities is a state designation enabling property and business owners the opportunity to access a revitalization toolbox of financing programs and tax credit incentives. The Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development's website describes the Sustainable Communities Program as a "place-based designation offering a comprehensive package of resources that support holistic strategies for community development, revitalization and sustainability. Led by the department, Sustainable Communities has provided local governments with a framework for promoting environmentally, economically and socially responsible growth and development in existing older communities."

District 2 Commissioner Richard Weaver, representing Finksburg, said, "This designation is a positive move for Finksburg, and I am pleased the process is starting with a plan developed in conjunction with the community."

The next step is for the Department of Planning to submit the full application to the State of Maryland by the January 31, 2018 deadline. Applications for Sustainable Communities designation are reviewed by state inter-agency teams, which make recommendations to the Secretary of the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development. The recommendations must then be approved by the Governor's Smart Growth Subcabinet. Once approved, newly designated Sustainable Communities retain their designation for a period of five years.

###

CARROLL COUNTY

The Americans with Disabilities Act applies to the Carroll County Government and its programs, services, activities, and facilities. Anyone requiring an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication or who has a complaint should contact The Department of Citizen Services, 410.386.3600 or 1.888.302.8978 or MD Relay 7-1-1/1.800.735.2258 as soon as possible but no later than 72 hours before the scheduled event.