MEETING SUMMARY Carroll County Planning and Zoning Commission

February 4, 2015

Location: Carroll County Office Building

Members Present: Alec Yeo, Chairman

Richard J. Soisson, Vice Chair

Eugene A. Canale Matthew S. Helminiak Jeffrey A. Wothers Cynthia L. Cheatwood

Richard S. Rothschild, Ex-Officio C. Richard Weaver, Commissioner

Members Absent: Daniel E. Hoff, Alternate

Present with the Commission were the following persons: Philip R. Hager, Tay Harris, and Kelly Martin, Department of Land Use, Planning, and Development; Lynda Eisenberg and Nokomis Ford, Bureau of Comprehensive Planning; Ted Zaleski, Department of Management and Budget; Jack Lyburn and Jon Weetman, Department of Economic Development; Vince Campanella and David Schaffer, Economic Development Commission; and members of the public.

CALL TO ORDER/WELCOME

Chairman Yeo called the meeting to order at approximately 6:00 p.m.

ESTABLISHMENT OF QUORUM

Kelly Martin took the attendance of the Commission, noting that six members were present, and there was a quorum.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

OPENING REMARKS/ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

Secretary Hager welcomed the Commission to the first Wednesday evening of the month work session. He indicated he had no changes to the agenda.

REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

FREEDOM AREA PLAN STATUS UPDATE

Tay Harris, Department of Land Use, Planning, and Development, noted that the Freedom Area Plan Update, previously started in 2012, was stopped to allow staff to concentrate on the Carroll County Master Plan. She reviewed a timeline for plan development, public meetings, public draft preparation, and Plan Acceptance and 60-day review.

There was considerable discussion regarding existing housing and future housing demands for the area.

(Commissioner Rothschild and Cynthia Cheatwood entered the meeting.)

Chairman Yeo suggested that the Commission and staff facilitate an open forum discussion between developers, real estate agents representing that area, and the public. It was the consensus of the Commission to move forward with this idea.

Ms. Harris reviewed the proposed plan elements, including three new elements staff suggests, including: (1) From Freedom's Past to Freedom's Future, (10) Cultural, Historic, Recreational, and Ecotourism Amenities, and (13) County Designated Natural Resources.

Chairman Yeo suggested that the Town of Sykesville be involved early in the plan development phase.

Secretary Hager suggested that staff invite the Town of Sykesville to the March 4 Commission work session.

FY16-21 PRELIMINARY RECOMMENDED CIP OVERVIEW

Ted Zaleski, Department of Management and Budget, noted that staff had distributed copies of the CIP Requests that were submitted as well as the Preliminary Recommended CIP. He explained that the Preliminary Recommended CIP is an attempt by staff to reflect the goals of the Board of County Commissioners and will be utilized by Budget staff as a starting point for discussions with the Board; it is not a final document. Mr. Zaleski highlighted the comparison of requests to preliminary recommended projects, summaries of all the projects, the six-year request to the State for Board of Education funding, etc. He noted that most of the projects contained in the Recommended CIP take care of infrastructure. Mr. Zaleski highlighted the Charles Carroll Elementary Modernization project, noting that it is unlikely to move forward in this way, but the school system has requested a K-8 project to replace Charles Carroll Elementary, William Winchester Elementary, and East Middle. He directed the Commission's attention to the funding for several projects, including: Agricultural Land Preservation, Watershed Assessment and Improvement (NPDES), Market Street Extension, and Small Drainage Structures and Storm Drains. Mr. Zaleski explained that the Commission's role is to determine whether these projects are consistent with the Master Plan.

Secretary Hager noted that a draft letter will be reviewed by the Commission during the next Commission meeting.

2030 DISCUSSION

The Commission met with Jack Lyburn and Jon Weetman, Department of Economic Development, and Vince Campanella and David Schaffer, Economic Development Commission (EDC) members, to discuss the 2030 report and how the "clusters" developed by the group could be addressed by the EDC in coordination and cooperation with the Planning Commission. Many of the elements of the 2030 report would affect the roles of the EDC and the Planning Commission.

Mr. Weetman explained that the EDC exists to advise the Board of County Commissioners. The Board regularly provides topics or issues for the EDC to research and provide recommendations on.

Mr. Lyburn suggested that a subcommittee of the EDC work with a subcommittee of the Planning Commission and staff to develop a proposed process on how to move forward which will be reviewed with both full Commissions.

Mr. Campanella noted that if the Planning Commission was agreeable to creating a subcommittee, he, Mr. Schaffer, and staff would need to present the recommendation to the full EDC for approval.

It was the consensus of the Commission to move forward with the creation of a subcommittee consisting of members from both the EDC, Planning Commission, and their staff.

Secretary Hager questioned whether the Commission wished to receive a presentation from the 2030 Group during the March 4th work session. It was the consensus of the Commission that an invitation be given.

Secretary	Approved
There being no further discussion, the meeting adjourned at approximately 8:20 p.m.	
The next Commission meeting is scheduled	for Tuesday, Feordary 17 at 9.00 a.m.