# MEETING SUMMARY PUBLIC HEARING

# FREEDOM COMMUNITY COMPRESHENSIVE PLAN CARROLL COUNTY PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION

# June 8, 2017

Location: Liberty High School

Members Present: Matthew S. Helminiak, Chair

Richard J. Soisson, Vice Chair

Eugene A. Canale

Alec Yeo

Jeffrey A. Wothers Cynthia L. Cheatwood Dennis E. Frazier, Ex-officio Daniel E. Hoff, Alternate

Present with the Commission were the following persons: Philip R. Hager, Lynda Eisenberg, Mary Lane, Andrea Gerhard, Bobbi Moser, Nokomis Ford, Clare Stewart, Laura Bavetta, Jena Beard and Darby Metcalf, Department of Planning; and Gail Kessler, County Attorney's Office.

# **CALL TO ORDER/WELCOME**

Chairman Helminiak called the meeting to order at approximately 6:04 p.m.

# **ESTABLISHMENT OF QUORUM**

Chair Helminiak took attendance and noted that seven members of the Board were present and a quorum was in attendance.

# PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

# **OPENING REMARKS**

Chair Helminiak reminded the audience to silence their electronic devices. He stated the purpose of the Public Hearing is to receive testimony, it is not a question and answer session. Chair Helminiak reviewed the ground rules for the evening.

#### REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The Agenda was approved via a motion by Mr. Soisson, seconded by Mr. Wothers, and carried.

#### **HEARING PROCESS AND GUIDELINES**

Secretary Hager stated there would be a five minute recess at 7:15 p.m. and a second recess 75 minutes after the first recess. Chair Helminiak stated that Mr. William Caine presented the CCPS Facilities Master Plan at the previous evening's Planning Commission meeting and reported that the projected utilization of the high schools in the Freedom area will be 75% in the next ten years.

# **PLAN OVERVIEW**

Lynda Eisenberg reviewed Plan highlights.

# **OPENING OF PUBLIC HEARING**

# **RECEIPT OF TESTIMONY**

The following 40 citizens spoke:

Susan Krebs

Mark Krebs

Donald Champ

Kim Madeja

Pete Lester

Ross Dangel

Mike Madeja

Barbara Faid

Jean Luebke

Bruce Holstein

Diana Eignor

Julia Armstrong

William Gibson

Kathy Fuller

Clark Shaffer

Marty Hackett

Steve Debrecroy

Angie Pfeifer

Gary McCurdy

Beth Gray

Stan Prouser

Katie Gerity

Patrick Huter

Patricia Dorsey

Jeanne Patterson

Michael Reeves

Michelle Steel

George Gray

Megan Channing

Karrah Maskell

Jason Murphy

Amy Chase Martin

Wade Kennan

George Barnhart

Wayne Schuster

**Matt Bensing** 

Kenneth Pfeifer

Heidi Condon

Al Gross

Richard Rothschild (yielded his time)

# **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no	further	business,	the Co	mmission,	on	motion	of Mr.	Wothers,	seconded	by I	Mr
Yeo and carried	l, adjour	ned at app	roxima	ately 8:45 p	o.m.						

Secretary	Approved