MEETING SUMMARY Carroll County Planning and Zoning Commission

April 2, 2014

Location: Carroll County Office Building

Members Present: Alec Yeo, Chairman

Richard J. Soisson, Vice Chair

Eugene A. Canale Matthew S. Helminiak Jeffrey A. Wothers

Daniel E. Hoff, Alternate

Members Absent: Cynthia L. Cheatwood

Richard S. Rothschild, Ex-Officio

Present with the Commission were the following persons: Philip R. Hager and Mike Roberts, Department of Land Use, Planning, and Development; Lynda Eisenberg, Bureau of Comprehensive Planning; Clay Black, Bureau of Development Review; and Jay Voight, Zoning Administration; Melvin Baile, Jr.; and Bruce Reamer.

CALL TO ORDER/WELCOME

Chairman Yeo called the meeting to order at approximately 6:00 p.m.

ESTABLISHMENT OF QUORUM

Philip R. Hager, Secretary, took the attendance of the Commission, noting that six members were present, and there was a quorum.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

OPENING REMARKS/ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

Philip R. Hager, Secretary, indicated he had no changes to the meeting agenda.

REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA

It was the consensus of the Commission to approve the agenda as distributed.

PROPOSED TEXT AMENDMENTS – SOLAR FARMS

Staff reviewed with the Planning Commission a concept proposal for zoning text modifications to facilitate solar generation facilities in the Industrial and Commercial zones and in the Agricultural zone under certain restrictions. Following discussion, the Planning Commission provided direction to the staff. Staff agreed to provide the concept proposal in a legislative format with the Planning Commission's recommended modifications prior to the April 15 meeting.

MASTER PLAN: LAND USE DISCUSSION

Lynda Eisenberg, Bureau of Comprehensive Planning; Mike Roberts, GIS Analyst; and Philip R.
Hager, Director, Department of Land Use, Planning & Development; led a continued discussion
of future land use with the Planning Commission as part of their continuing Master Plan efforts.

There being no further business, the	e Commission adjourned at approximately 8:20 p.m.
Secretary	Approved