The Water Resource Coordination Council (WRCC) was formed in March 2007 by a non-binding joint resolution (#697-07) between the County, municipalities, and Carroll County Health Department. The committee provides a mechanism for cooperative problem solving of critical water resource management issues facing the County and municipalities. The committee fosters discussion between jurisdictions in order to develop regional (watershed) or County-wide approaches to policies, procedures, and solutions regarding water resource development and protection. The committee provides a forum for the dissemination of ideas, solutions, and cost-saving approaches to water resource development and protection in Carroll County.

Carroll County Water Resource Management Resolution (#697-07)

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) Permit Coordination

On April 22, 2014, the Board of County Commissioners and the Mayors of all eight municipalities signed a Memorandum of Intent (MOI) for joint participation in addressing National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) requirements. The MOI indicates the County's and Municipalities' intent to become co-permittees on the County's Phase I NPDES MS4 Permit, as well as to cost-share funding of stormwater mitigation projects.

Pursuant to the MOI, the Water Resource Coordination Council (WRCC) worked diligently to draft a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) to address how this cost-share will take place and to delegate the administrative responsibilities of the Permit. The final MOA represents many hours of WRCC discussion, review and input by all jurisdictions' attorneys and discussion and approval by each set of elected officials. On October 23, 2014, the Board and the Mayors met jointly to discuss the MOA and officially sign the MOA.  All Carroll County municipalities and the Board of County Commissioners signed the MOA.

The MOA was effective upon the earlier of the issuance by MDE of a permit which lists the Municipalities as Co-permittees or July 1, 2015. The cost-share provisions of the MOA went into effect on July 1, 2015.

The WRCC works with County staff to serve as the forum for process oversight, program evaluation, and setting of priorities for NPDES MS4 Stormwater Mitigation Projects. County staff makes recommendations to the WRCC for project priorities.

Prior to the issuance of the next-generation permit on December 30, 2022, the WRCC reviewed the MOA.  It was revised to become a perpetual agreement that would not have to be resigned at the end of each permit term.  The MOA then was reaffirmed and resigned on October 7, 2021.