What is Sustainable Communities?

The Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development's Sustainable Communities Program is a place-based designation offering a comprehensive package of resources that support holistic strategies for community development, revitalization, and sustainability. Led by the Department, Sustainable Communities has provided local governments with a framework for promoting environmentally, economically and socially responsible growth and development in existing older communities.

The Sustainable Community designation is a threshold requirement for application to certain state programs.

For more information on the Sustainable Communities Program, visit the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development, Sustainable Communities webpage.

Maryland Approved Sustainable Communities Map.

Approved Carroll County Sustainable Communities

  Town of Manchester Town of Mount Airy Town of New Windsor Town of Sykesville Town of Union Bridge City of Taneytown City of Westminster Town of Hampstead