The mission of the Emergency Communications Center and Emergency Management under the Department of Public Safety is to provide the people who live, work, and visit Carroll County with highly professional, well-coordinated public safety services.  Through teamwork, we foster cooperation between allied agencies and our department to achieve the goal of protecting life and property as well as supporting resiliency for all of Carroll County.

The Carroll County Department of Public Safety is responsible for the operation of the Emergency Communications Center (911 services), and Emergency Management.  The Department is also responsible for the assignment of addresses for all areas of Carroll County except for the Town of Taneytown, the Town of New Windsor, and the old section of the City of Westminster.