Function – Advisory - To help develop broad policy plans for CC’s environmental future, review specific issues of environmental concern and assist the BCC protect our environmental heritage, conserve CC’s natural resources and restore environmentally degraded areas, advise BCC of actions that could be taken to improve environmental quality, assist environmental education and serve as the county Tree Commission.

Qualifications – Cross section of residents who generally represent agriculture, business, development, environmental communities and citizens-at-large. 

The Carroll County Board of Commissioners (“Board”) established the Environmental Advisory Council (EAC) in 2004. The EAC serves as an advisory body to the Board on issues of environmental concern. 

Purpose and Function 
Chapter 31 of the Carroll County Code outlines the purpose of the Environmental Advisory Council as follows:

  1. To participate in the development of broad policy plans designed to guide the County's environmental future.
  2. To review specific issues of environmental concern and assist the Board of County Commissioners to protect Carroll County's environmental heritage, conserve Carroll County's natural resources, and restore environmentally degraded areas within Carroll County.
  3. To advise the Board of County Commissioners and the citizens of Carroll County of actions that could be taken to improve the quality of the environment in Carroll County, as well as of any that may threaten it.
  4. To assist with environmental educational efforts.
  5. To serve as the County Tree Commission.

The EAC operates according to the provisions its bylaws and of Chapter 31. The EAC's mission is as follows:

The EAC is dedicated to promoting environmental stewardship by providing environmentally, socially, and economically responsible recommendations and/or information to the Board of County Commissioners on environmental issues relevant to Carroll County and also by public outreach and education.

The EAC consists of nine (9) volunteer members that are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners to staggered 4-year terms. Members are a cross section of residents of Carroll County generally representing agricultural, business, development, environmental communities, and citizens-at-large. 

The current members are:

  • Frank Vleck, Chair
  • Craig Paskoski, Vice Chair
  • Curtis Barrett
  • Ellen Cutsail
  • Jesse Drummond
  • David Hynes
  • Charlene Norris
  • Tiffany VanDerwerker