Contact: Jeff Degitz, Director of Recreation & Parks

Westminster, MD, Tuesday, December 29, 2020 – Carroll County Department of Recreation & Parks annually recognizes recreation council Volunteers of the Year and inducts new members into the Volunteer Hall of Fame. This year, for the first time since 1975, the Department of Recreation & Parks is recognizing and honoring the Volunteers of the Year and Hall of Fame Inductees virtually. 

Volunteers are nominated by local Recreation Councils and recognized by the Department of Recreation & Parks. Each Recreation Council contributed write-ups about nominees, sharing examples of selfless acts, commitment to their community, and support for their Recreation Council and the department.  Over the past year, recreation and parks’ volunteers faced unimaginable challenges, dealt with them head-on, and continued to serve with unmatched dedication and commitment.

The Department of Recreation & Parks has over 8,000 volunteers who serve the community by coaching, helping to maintain fields, cleaning up parks, volunteering at our facilities and Nature Centers, and more. Congratulations to these incredible volunteers who help shape and contribute to the Carroll County Department of Recreation & Parks’ success!

2020 Volunteers of the Year:

Lynda Arnold, Carroll County Equestrian Council

Brian Mount, Central Carroll Recreation Council

Scott Fischer, Charles Carroll Recreation Council

John Hubbs, Freedom Area Recreation Council

Jennifer Lettau, North Carroll Recreation Council

Scott Baker, Westminster Area Recreation Council

Stephen Valerio, West Carroll Recreation Council

Lisa Humphries, Winfield Recreation Council

Tim Washabaugh, Woodbine Recreation Council

Michelle Scott, Hashawha/Bear Branch Advisory Council

Piney Run Volunteer Group, Piney Run Recreation, and Conservation Council
Erin Heinrich, Claude Hoerner, Barry Hoskins, Linda Coyne, Renee Schoff, Jack Redmond, Jean Redmond, Carol Demarzo, Bob Demarzo, Lorrie Voytek

In addition, the Department of Recreation & Parks is honoring the 2020 Volunteer Hall of Fame Inductees. To be considered for the Hall of Fame, volunteers must have served at least twenty (20) years and made significant contributions resulting in a lasting impact over time.

Hall of Fame Inductees are submitted to the Department of Recreation & Parks and voted on by the Recreation & Parks Advisory Board. This year the department is inducting and honoring five (5) new members into the Hall of Fame.

2020 Hall of Fame Inductees:

Judy Baker

Marsha Barger

Gilbert & Janet Breeding

Kenneth Kiler

Sandy Sullivan

To learn more about each of the Department of Recreation & Parks Volunteers of the Year and 2020 Hall of Fame Inductees, please visit or call 410-386-2103.